Academic Divisions

Advanced Prosthodontics

Division Chair: 
Benjamin M. Wu, D.D.S., Ph.D.
Division Vice Chair: 
Eric C. Sung, D.D.S.

Biomaterials Science

Section Chair: Dr. Benjamin Wu

Coursework for predoctoral students, and advanced courses in materials, biomechanics, and bioengineering to postdoctoral residents. A key research strength, the section also provides interdisciplinary research mentoring to students, residents, and clinical faculty in areas of dental materials, advanced biomaterials, and bioengineering.

Special Patient Care

Section Chair: Dr. Eric Sung

Instructing students and residents in dentistry where we integrate medicine and dentistry. Given such, we provide comprehensive dental care for patients with complex medical conditions, intellectually disabled, and/or with physical limitations or disabilities, either in an out-patient or hospital setting.


Section Chair: Dr. Ting-Ling Chang

Disciplines include fixed prosthodontics, removable prosthodontics, implant dentistry, and maxillofacial prosthetics. With multi-leveled educational programs
for students, residents, postdoctoral fellows and clinical trainees.

Constitutive & Regenerative Sciences

Division Chair: 
Mo Kwan Kang, M.S., Ph.D., D.D.S.


Section Chair: Dr. Mo Kwan Kang

Specialty dealing with the etiology, diagnosis, prevention, and treatment of the diseases of the pulp and periradicular tissues.


Section Chair: Dr. Flavia Pirih

Focused on preventing and treating periodontal diseases and other conditions through non-surgical and surgical procedures.

Restorative Dentistry

Section Chair: Dr. Reuben Kim

Training predoctoral students to be compassionate and competent in restoring the form, function, and esthetics of damaged and malformed teeth.

Diagnostic & Surgical Sciences

Division Chair: 
Earl G. Freymiller, D.M.D.

Dental Anesthesiology

Section Chair: Dr. Christine Quinn

Educational programs and clinical support at the predoctoral, postgraduate, and continuing education levels in pain management. Research and clinical activities are focused on anxiety and pain control.

Oral & Maxillofacial Pathology

Section Chair: Dr. Russell Christensen

Responsibilities in the DDS and postgraduate training programs, and optional rotations for medical pathology residents and fellows.

Oral & Maxillofacial Radiology

Section Chair: Dr. Sanjay Mallya

Educating dental students about the principles and applications of ionizing radiation in the diagnosis of oral-facial disease.

Oral & Maxillofacial Surgery

Section Chair: Dr. Wayne Ozaki

A rigorous didactic program combining lectures with small-group learning, and a clinical program that imparts proficiency in the basics of oral surgical practice.

Growth & Development

Division Chair: 
Francisco Ramos-Gomez, D.D.S., M.S., M.P.H.


Section Co-Chairs: Dr. Fariba Younai & Dr. Clarice Law

Special emphasis is placed on understanding the diversity of orthodontic treatment options available. Our students graduate with a full range of comprehensive treatments, Phase I treatment, craniofacial care, and combined orthodontic/orthognathic surgery procedures.

Pediatric Dentistry

Section Chair: Dr. Daniela Silva

Teaching dental students, post graduate trainees, dental specialists, and practicing dentists. With research endeavors in Pediatric Dentistry as well as a patient care component.

Oral Biology & Medicine

Division Chair: 
Cun-Yu Wang, D.D.S., Ph.D.
Division Vice Chair: 
Fariba S. Younai, D.D.S.

Oral Biology

Section Chair: Dr. Igor Spigelman

Providing scientific leadership in selected areas of oral health research, including head and neck cancer, immunity, microbiology, pain and bioengineering research.

Oral Medicine & Orofacial Pain

Section Chair: Dr. Fariba Younai

The Oral Medicine specialty centers on diagnosis and non-surgical management of medically related disorders and oral diseases affecting the oral and maxillofacial region. The specialty of Orofacial Pain focuses on prevention, evaluation, diagnosis, treatment and rehabilitation of chronic orofacial pain disorders.

Public Health & Community Dentistry

Division Chair: 
James J. Crall, D.D.S., M.S., SC.D.